Play of the week: PHI vs DAL
PRO Training & Development Manager Paul Rejer draws on a goal line incident in the game between Philadelphia Union and FC Dallas in week 18’s Play of the week.
The incident that Paul refers to happened in the 91st minute at PPL Park.
He explained: “A shot on goal by FC Dallas’ Blas Perez was cleared away by Sheanon Williams of Philadelphia but the ball appeared to have crossed the goal line.
“Referee Allen Chapman was positioned just outside of the penalty area, exactly where you would expect him to be in this phase of play. AR2 Matthew Kreitzer was also positioned where you would expect him to be, which is level with the second last defender. He then did what all good ARs do and followed the ball, quickly advancing to the goal line, but when the ball actually crossed the line he was not in a credible position to make a judgment.
“This highlights the importance of an AR being in the correct position to make this judgment. The ball crosses the line but is cleared in a split second so if the AR is in any other position but the goal line he will not be able to make this call, unless he guesses and we instruct officials never to do that. Only give what you see is the message.
“This is a classic situation of where the officials have failed to award a legitimate goal but cannot be criticized for not making the call. No-one can hold a match official responsible for not seeing something and therefore not acting on it. However, they can be blamed if they guess on an event that they cannot see.”