Friday, December 8, 2023

Top USL accolades awarded to Matt Thompson and Mike Nickerson

Matt Thompson has won the USL Referee of the Year award, with Mike Nickerson collecting the Assistant Referee of the Year accolade.

The duo were regulars in USL Championship this year, with Thompson taking charge of 21 games and Nickerson running the line in 16.

Alex Prus, Director of PRO2 Match Officials, said: “Congratulations to Matt and Mike and all the award nominees – they have consistently performed at a high level this year.

“Both Matt and Mike were promoted to a higher PRO2 tier at the start of 2021 and excelled throughout the season, with Mike receiving another promotion in July.

“Their achievements reflect the increasing quality and competitiveness of the PRO2 camp and how the officials continue to push each other to bring the best performances out of themselves and their peers.”

Referee of the Year nominees:

Michael Radchuk
Lukasz Szpala
Matt Thompson (WINNER)

Assistant Referee of the Year nominees:

Meghan Mullen
Mike Nickerson (WINNER)
Tyler Wyrostek

Please click here for a list of previous winners

online pokies real money