Thursday, September 28, 2023

2021 MLS Awards: Referee and AR of the Year nominees announced

Major League Soccer has announced the nominees for its annual end-of-year awards. There are 10 different awards with two dedicated to officials: Referee of the Year and Assistant Referee of the Year.

The nominations are:

Referee of the Year:
Jair Marrufo (15 MLS games)
Robert Sibiga (23 MLS games)
Armando Villarreal (16 MLS games)

Assistant Referee of the Year:
Frank Anderson (16 MLS games)
Ian Anderson (26 MLS games)
Cory Richardson (25 MLS games)

Players, media, and technical staff will vote for each category, with each group representing a third of the vote. Voting starts on Friday, October 29 (12PM ET) and ends on Monday, November 8 (5PM ET).

Game counts are correct at the conclusion of Week 33.

online pokies real money