Play of the Week 11: Handball
By PRO Training & Development Manager Paul Rejer
The Law 12 clearly states that a direct free kick should be awarded to the opposing team if, whilst the ball is in play, a player handles the ball deliberately (except for the goalkeeper within his own penalty area).
A penalty kick is awarded if a defending team player deliberately handles the ball inside his own penalty area (except for the goalkeeper within his own penalty area).
Handball is one of the simplest of all the Laws of the Game, yet the difficulty for referees in a match situation is determining whether a handball is a deliberate act. This is where the complexity is involved in making the judgement!
The handball offence is so very simple, yet it is universally, and frustratingly for referees, misunderstood by players, managers, sports commentators, journalists and spectators alike.
Determining what a deliberate act of handball is often causes the most problems and provides the referee with one of their hardest challenges. It is also important to stress that not every penalised deliberate handball is punishable by a yellow or red card. A direct free kick or penalty kick may be sufficient punishment.
In deciding whether a handball is deliberate or not, referees consider the following four criteria:
1. The proximity of the offending player to the ball when the ball is struck. The closer the player is to the ball when it is played, the less time he has to react, and move his arm / hand either out of the way or even towards the ball. A ball struck from close range on to the arm or hand of an opposing player is less likely to be considered a deliberate act when compared to a ball struck from distance where the defending player has more opportunity to move his hand / arm out of the way of the ball.
2. The movement of the hand or arm towards the ball or away from the ball to prevent a handball offence occurring.
3. Whether the defending player’s hands or arms are in the expected position at the time the ball is played, and whether the player is merely protecting himself or is unable to move his arm / hand out of the way when the ball is struck.
4. Whether the player uses his arms or hands to make himself bigger in order to prevent the ball from going past him. This is a deliberate act which may give the offending player an unfair advantage.
‘Ball to hand’ is the well-known phrase used by referees to describe an accidental (or non-deliberate) ‘handball’. It is usually obvious to referees when a player purposely moves his hand or arm towards the ball with the intention of gaining an unfair advantage over his opponents. Deliberately handling the ball implies full consciousness of the nature of one’s actions and its consequences.
Even amongst refereeing circles there is usually a lot of debate and disagreement when discussing whether or not a handball is deliberate. At last week’s PRO referee camp, we discussed a number of handball decisions that occurred recently and only one had 100 per cent agreement. With that in mind, I would like to show two handball penalty decisions that occurred during MLS Week 11; one given, one not given and, on this occasion, I would like you to decide on the correct decision.
The first call is from the game between Toronto FC and Minnesota United.
United’s Francisco Calvo heads the ball towards goal before making contact with the arm of Toronto defender Raheem Edwards. Referee Allen Chapman has no hesitation in pointing to the spot. Is he correct?
The second call is from Montreal Impact versus Columbus Crew.
When Crew’s Justin Meram attempts to cross the ball into the penalty area, the ball makes contact with the arm of Impact defender Laurent Ciman. Referee Silviu Petrescu waves away the appeals and awards a corner kick. Is he correct?
Let us know your thoughts on Twitter or Facebook (@proreferees).
When you make your decision, please refer to the four considerations listed earlier and apply them to the two clips. I will give you PRO’s official verdicts next week.